Did You Know?
- The Open Golf Championship


The Open Championship was first played on 17 October 1860 at Prestwick Golf Club, in Ayrshire, Scotland. The inaugural tournament was restricted to professionals, and attracted a field of eight Scottish golfers, who played three rounds of Prestwick's (then) twelve-hole course in a single day. Open Golf tournaments now take place at many locations around the world but they are all named after the country or location. The one held in the UK is called simply "The Open Golf Championship" or simply the Open (although sometimes referred to as the British Open outside the United Kingdom).

From 1860 to 1896 the competition was always held in Scotland and since 1860 St Andrews has hosted the competition more times than any other venue - 26 times, with Prestwick a close second (24 times, a total inflated by the first dozen competitions being held there). Originally, the trophy presented to the event's winner was the Champion's Belt, a red leather belt with a silver buckle. There was no prize money in the first three Opens. In 1863, a prize fund of £10 was introduced, which was shared between the second- third- and fourth-placed professionals, with the Champion still just getting to keep the belt - for a year. In 1864 Old Tom Morris won the first Champion's cash prize of £6. By 2011, the winner's cheque had increased to £900,000. The present trophy, The Golf Champion Trophy, better known by its popular name of The Claret Jug, was created in 1873. The 1894 Open was the first one held outside Scotland, at the Royal St George's Golf Club in England.

Winners of The Open, 1860 to 2011

Year Venue Winner From
2011 Royal St George's Darren Clarke Northern Ireland
2010 St Andrews Louis Oosthuizen South Africa
2009 Turnberry Stewart Cink USA
2008 Royal Birkdale Pádraig Harrington Ireland
2007 Carnoustie Pádraig Harrington Ireland
2006 Royal Liverpool Tiger Woods USA
2005 St Andrews Tiger Woods USA
2004 Royal Troon Todd Hamilton USA
2003 Royal St George's Ben Curtis USA
2002 Muirfield Ernie Els South Africa
2001 Royal Lytham & St Annes David Duval USA
2000 St Andrews Tiger Woods USA
1999 Carnoustie Paul Lawrie Scotland
1998 Royal Birkdale Mark O'Meara USA
1997 Royal Troon Justin Leonard USA
1996 Royal Lytham & St Annes Tom Lehman USA
1995 St Andrews John Daly USA
1994 Turnberry Nick Price Zimbabwe
1993 Royal St George's Greg Norman Australia
1992 Muirfield Nick Faldo England
1991 Royal Birkdale Ian Baker-Finch Australia
1990 St Andrews Nick Faldo England
1989 Royal Troon Mark Calcavecchia USA
1988 Royal Lytham & St Annes Seve Ballesteros Spain
1987 Muirfield Nick Faldo England
1986 Turnberry Greg Norman Australia
1985 Royal St George's Sandy Lyle Scotland
1984 St Andrews Seve Ballesteros Spain
1983 Royal Birkdale Tom Watson USA
1982 Royal Troon Tom Watson USA
1981 Royal St George's Bill Rogers USA
1980 Muirfield Tom Watson USA
1979 Royal Lytham & St Annes Seve Ballesteros Spain
1978 St Andrews Jack Nicklaus USA
1977 Turnberry Tom Watson USA
1976 Royal Birkdale Johnny Miller USA
1975 Carnoustie Tom Watson USA
1974 Royal Lytham & St Annes Gary Player South Africa
1973 Royal Troon Tom Weiskopf USA
1972 Muirfield Lee Trevino USA
1971 Royal Birkdale Lee Trevino USA
1970 St Andrews Jack Nicklaus USA
1969 Royal Lytham & St Annes Tony Jacklin England
1968 Carnoustie Gary Player South Africa
1967 Royal Liverpool Roberto De Vicenzo Argentina
1966 Muirfield Jack Nicklaus USA
1965 Royal Birkdale Peter Thomson Australia
1964 St Andrews Tony Lema USA
1963 Royal Lytham & St Annes Bob Charles New Zealand
1962 Royal Troon Arnold Palmer USA
1961 Royal Birkdale Arnold Palmer USA
1960 St Andrews Kel Nagle Australia
1959 Muirfield Gary Player South Africa
1958 Royal Lytham & St Annes Peter Thomson Australia
1957 St Andrews Bobby Locke South Africa
1956 Royal Liverpool Peter Thomson Australia
1955 St Andrews Peter Thomson Australia
1954 Royal Birkdale Peter Thomson Australia
1953 Carnoustie Ben Hogan USA
1952 Royal Lytham & St Annes Bobby Locke South Africa
1951 Royal Portrush Max Faulkner England
1950 Royal Troon Bobby Locke South Africa
1949 Royal St George's Bobby Locke South Africa
1948 Muirfield Henry Cotton England
1947 Royal Liverpool Fred Daly Northern Ireland
1946 St Andrews Sam Snead USA
  1940–1945: No Championships - WW II    
1939 St Andrews Dick Burton England
1938 Royal St George's Reg Whitcombe England
1937 Carnoustie Henry Cotton England
1936 Royal Liverpool Alf Padgham England
1935 Muirfield Alf Perry England
1934 Royal St George's Henry Cotton England
1933 St Andrews Denny Shute USA
1932 Prince's Golf Club Gene Sarazen
1931 Carnoustie Tommy Armour USA
1930 Royal Liverpool Bobby Jones USA
1929 Muirfield Walter Hagen USA
1928 Royal St George's Walter Hagen USA
1927 St Andrews Bobby Jones USA
1926 Royal Lytham & St Annes Bobby Jones USA
1925 Prestwick Jim Barnes England
1924 Royal Liverpool Walter Hagen USA
1923 Royal Troon Arthur Havers England
1922 Royal St George's Walter Hagen USA
1921 St Andrews Jock Hutchison USA
1920 Royal Cinque Ports George Duncan Scotland
  1915-1919 - No Championships - WWI    
1914 Prestwick Harry Vardon Jersey
1913 Royal Liverpool John Henry Taylor England
1912 Muirfield Ted Ray Jersey
1911 Royal St George's Harry Vardon Jersey
1910 St Andrews James Braid Scotland
1909 Royal Cinque Ports John Henry Taylor England
1908 Prestwick James Braid Scotland
1907 Royal Liverpool Arnaud Massy France
1906 Muirfield James Braid Scotland
1905 St Andrews James Braid Scotland
1904 Royal St George's Jack White Scotland
1903 Prestwick Harry Vardon Jersey
1902 Royal Liverpool Sandy Herd Scotland
1901 Muirfield James Braid Scotland
1900 St Andrews John Henry Taylor England
1899 Royal St George's Harry Vardon Jersey
1898 Prestwick arry Vardon Jersey
1897 Royal Liverpool Harold Hilton England
1896 Muirfield Harry Vardon Jersey
1895 St Andrews John Henry Taylor England
1894 Royal St George's John Henry Taylor England
1893 Prestwick William Auchterlonie Scotland
1892 Muirfield Harold Hilton England
1891 St Andrews Hugh Kirkaldy Scotland
1890 Prestwick John Ball England
1889 Musselburgh Willie Park, Jnr Scotland
1888 St Andrews Jack Burns Scotland
1887 Prestwick Willie Park, Jnr Scotland
1886 Musselburgh David Brown Scotland
1885 St Andrews Bob Martin Scotland
1884 Prestwick Jack Simpson Scotland
1883 Musselburgh Willie Fernie Scotland
1882 St Andrews Bob Ferguson Scotland
1881 Prestwick Bob Ferguson Scotland
1880 Musselburgh Bob Ferguson Scotland
1879 St Andrews Jamie Anderson Scotland
1878 Prestwick Jamie Anderson Scotland
1877 Musselburgh Jamie Anderson Scotland
1876 St Andrews Bob Martin Scotland
1875 Prestwick Willie Park, Snr Scotland
1874 Musselburgh Mungo Park Scotland
1873 St Andrews Tom Kidd Scotland
1872 Prestwick Tom Morris, Jnr Scotland
1871 No Championship    
1870 Prestwick Tom Morris, Jnr Scotland
1869 Prestwick Tom Morris, Jnr Scotland
1868 Prestwick Tom Morris, Jnr Scotland
1867 Prestwick Tom Morris, Dnr Scotland
1866 Prestwick Willie Park, Snr Scotland
1865 Prestwick Andrew Strath Scotland
1864 Prestwick Tom Morris, Snr Scotland
1863 Prestwick Willie Park, Snr Scotland
1862 Prestwick Tom Morris, Snr Scotland
1861 Prestwick Tom Morris, Snr Scotland
1860 Prestwick Willie Park, Snr Scotland

Use the "Back" button on your browser or click here to return to the Index of "Did You Know?"

Where else would you like to go in Scotland?

Separator line